All charities that solicit donations in Arkansas must register and file annual informational returns with the Attorney General. The registration requirements also apply to paid solicitors and professional fundraisers. To find out if a charity is registered in Arkansas, please visit the Charities Database.
Donors: The Attorney General encourages Arkansans considering donating to charity to visit an informational page on charitable giving, before donating.
Charities: Ark. Code Ann. § 4-28-401, et seq. requires charitable organizations to register with the Attorney General. Annual reporting forms must be filed each year, generally on or before May 15. A registration form, annual reporting form and information regarding registration are found below. Registration is free, but mandatory.
Paid Solicitors: Anyone who raises funds for a charitable organization and maintains possession of funds or retains a commission of the total funds raised must register with the Attorney General’s Office as a paid solicitor. To maintain registration, paid solicitors must pay an annual fee of $200 to the State of Arkansas, and must retain a $10,000 bond in favor of the Attorney General. A registration form and annual reporting forms are available below. In addition to a registration form, paid solicitors must submit copies of all solicitation contracts to the Attorney General.
Fundraising Counsel: Fundraising counsel for charities must register with the Attorney General annually and provide certain information. The annual registration fee is $100. The applicable forms for fundraising counsel are below.
- Act 137 of 1993 – Act Act to Require Registration and to Regulate Telephonic Sellers
- Telephonic Seller Registration
- Telephonic Seller Consent to Service
- Telephonic Seller Surety Bond
- Telephonic Salesperson Registration
- Telephonic Salesperson Consent to Service