
STATE OF ARKANSAS 
THE ArroRNEY GENERAL 

LESLIE RUTLEDGE 

Opinion No. 2015-027 

June 11, 2015 

Tony Wood, Commissioner 
Arkansas Department of Education 
#4 Capitol Mall 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-1019 

Dear Mr. Wood: 

I am writing in response to your request for my opinion concerning your question 
about the period during which a disabled child is eligible under state law to receive 
free public education. You ask whether the statutory language "between three (3) 
and twenty-one (21) years of age" means "3 to 21" or "3 through 21." 

RESPONSE 

In my opinion, existing law is equivocal on the question, but the Arkansas 
Department of Education (the "Department") may continue to apply the law as if it 
reads "3 to 21." 

DISCUSSION 

The Children With Disabilities Act of 1973 (the "Act") requires "school districts 
and the state to provide free public education for children with disabilities .... "1 

It defines "child with a disability" as a person "between three (3) and twenty-one 
(21) years of age" with one or more specified disabilities. 2 

The meaning of "between three (3) and twenty-one (21) years of age" is not 
necessarily obvious. The word "between" means "[i]n the interval separating (two 

1 Ark. Code Ann. § 6-41-206(a)(l) (Rep!. 2013); see also Ark. Code Ann.§§ 6-41-202, -205 (Rep!. 2013). 

2 Ark. Code Ann. § 6-41-203(1) (Rep!. 2013). 
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points of time, events, etc.)."3 So "between 4:00 and 6:00" ends at 6:00, not at 
6: 5 9 or 7: 00. On the other hand, we commonly refer to a person aged 21 years, 11 
months, as being "21 years old," so the phrase might reasonably be interpreted to 
include the entire year during which a person is "21 years old." 

Federal law provides for financial assistance to the states to provide free 
appropriate public education ("F APE") to disabled children.4 Assistance is 
available to any state that provides F APE to children with disabilities "between the 
ages of 3 and 21, inclusive,"5 but permits states to exclude children "18 through 
21" under state law or practice.6 Federal law does not, therefore, preclude an 
interpretation of Arkansas law to the effect that eligibility for F APE ends when a 
person becomes 21 years old. 

In connection with awarding assistance to the states under the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act ("IDEA"), the United States Department of Education 
("USDE") annually restates its understanding of each state's upper age limit for 
F APE and asks each state to correct USDE' s understanding if wrong or if the state 
has changed its law or practice.7 USDE's understanding of state law and practice 
in this regard appears to be based on each state's representations to USDE not on 
USDE's own interpretation of state law and practice.8 

3 New Shorter Oxford English Dictionary 220 (Lesley Brown ed., 1993). 

4 20 U.S.C. §§ 1400 et seq., the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act ("IDEA"). 

5 20 U.S.C. § 1412(a)(l)(A). The United States Department of Education ("USDE") is of the view that 
IDEA covers individuals until they become 22 years old. See Memorandum from Melody Musgrove, 
Director, Office of Special Education Programs, USDE, to Chief State School Officers and State Directors 
of Special Education (Dec. 1, 2014) and accompanying chart captioned "Year of Age Cohort (for years of 
age 3 through 21) for Which FAPE is Ensured (10/15/14)" (on file in this office). Notwithstanding federal 
law's use of the word "inclusive," USDE's view is not necessarily universally shared. Compare, e.g., Smith 
v. Special School Dist. No. 1 (Minneapolis), 184 F.3d 764, 770 (8th Cir. 1999) (under IDEA, "F APE must 
be made available through twenty-first year of age") (emphasis in original), with Birmingham v. Omaha 
School Dist., 298 F.3d 731, 733 (8th Cir. 2002) ("IDEA entitles [one] to education until she is age 21 ") 
(emphasis added). 

6 20 U.S.C. § 1412(a)(l)(B)(i). 

7 See Musgrove Memorandum, supra note 5. 

8 See id. 
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As early as 2004 and each following year, USDE has restated its understanding 
that Arkansas law provides that eligibility for F APE ends when a person becomes 
21 years old.9 That understanding is based on the Department's representation of 
Arkansas law to USDE. 

Accordingly, the Department has consistently interpreted the Act to mean "3 to 
21,'' at least in connection with its dealings with USDE regarding IDEA. 

When a regulatory agency responsible for administering and enforcing a statute 
has interpreted it to mean a certain thing, the courts will give that interpretation 
considerable deference. 10 This is particularly true where the administrative 
interpretation is of long standing, 11 or where the statute is ambiguous. 12 In such a 
case, the administrative interpretation will not be disregarded unless it is clearly 
wrong. 13 

Here, the Act is susceptible of two or more reasonable interpretations, and the 
Department has held to one of them for a significant period of time. 14 It is, 
therefore, my opinion that a court would defer to the Department's interpretation 

9 See Musgrove Memorandum, supra note 5, and Memorandum from Alexa Posny, Director, Office of 
Special Education Programs, USDE, to State Directors of Special Education (Mar. 6, 2006) and 
accompanying chart captioned "Age Cohort (for years of age 3 through 21) for which FAPE is Ensured 
(03/0 I /07)" (on file in this office). 

10 See, e.g., Matter of Sugarloaf Mining Co., 310 Ark. 772, 840 S.W.2d 172 (1991); Arkansas Dept. of 
Human Services v. Greene Acres Nursing Homes, Inc., 296 Ark. 475, 757 S.W.2d 563 (1988). 

11 See, e.g., Pledger v. Boyd, 304 Ark. 91, 799 S. W.2d 807 (1990). 

12 See, e.g., Leathers v. WS. Compton Co., Inc., 316 Ark. 10, 870 S.W.2d 710 (1994). 

13 See, e.g.. id.: Pledger, supra note 8. 

14 Additionally, the Department's interpretation comports with that of the United States Circuit Court of 
Appeals for the Eighth Circuit interpreting another Arkansas statute with language identical in relevant 
part. See Birmingham v. Omaha School Dist., 220 F.3d 850, 853 (8th Cir. 2000) ("Arkansas law mandates 
that school districts educate persons either to the age of twenty-one or until they complete the secondary 
education program") (interpreting Ark. Code Ann. § 6-18-202(b)(l), which requires public education for 
persons "between five (5) and twenty-one (21) years of age"; emphasis added); and Birmingham, supra 
note 5. 
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that the language at issue means "3 to 21." The Department accordingly may 
continue to apply the Act as though it expressly so provided. 15 

Assistant Attorney General J.M. Barker prepared this opinion, which I approve. 

Sincerely, 

c::~/~ 
LESLIE RUTLE~GG 
Attorney General 

LR/JMB:cyh 

15 Your request also alluded to the question whether the Act should be interpreted to permit a person to 
finish the academic year during which he becomes 21 years old. The law states no clear rule in this regard. 
While the Act does not require FAPE to continue beyond the day on which a person becomes 21 years old, 
neither does it prohibit continuance. See also Ark. Const. art. 14, § l("the General Assembly and/or public 
school districts may spend public funds for the education of persons over twenty-one (21 years of age ... 
. "). The matter appears to be left to the discretion of the Department and the responsible school districts. 


