
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Opinion No. 2008-158 
 
November 14, 2008 
 
The Honorable Gene Jeffress 
State Senator  
1483 Ouachita 47 
Louann, Arkansas  71751-8761 
 
Dear Senator Jeffress: 
 
 I am writing in response to your request for my opinion on the following 
question: 
 

Under the Arkansas State Constitution, does the $300.00 homestead 
tax exemption apply to homes owned by a trust and inhabited by 
persons who would otherwise qualify for the exemption if the trust 
did not exist? 
 

RESPONSE 
 
In question 4 of the attached Ark. Op. Att'y Gen. No. 2005-209, my immediate 
predecessor answered this same question.  Under current law, which is consistent 
with the law as discussed in my predecessor's opinion, the rule with respect to 
property held in trust is as follows: 
 

(a) As used in this subchapter and in the Arkansas Constitution, 
Amendment 79[1]: 
 
(1)(A) "Homestead" means the dwelling of a person that is used as 
his or her principal place of residence with the contiguous land, 

                                              
1 Section 3 of Amendment 79 provides in pertinent part:  "The General Assembly shall provide by law for 
an annual state credit against ad valorem property tax on a homestead in an amount of not less than three 
hundred dollars ($300)." 



The Honorable Gene Jeffress 
State Senator 
Opinion No. 2008-158 
Page 2 
 
 
 

excluding all land valued as agricultural land, pasture land, or timber 
land. 
 
(B) "Homestead" shall also include a dwelling owned by a 
revocable trust and used as the principal place of residence of a 
person who formed the trust[.] 

 
A.C.A. § 26-26-1122(a) (Supp. 2007) (emphasis added).  As reflected in the 
highlighted portion of this statute, if the residence at issue is the corpus of a 
revocable trust and is the principal place of residence of the trustor, the homestead 
exemption will apply.  By implication, if the trust is irrevocable, the homestead 
exemption will not apply. 
 
I feel compelled to note that your reference to the homestead exemption as 
amounting to $300.00 is no longer accurate.  As provided in A.C.A. § 26-26-
1118(a)(1)(B) (Supp. 2007): 
 

Effective with the assessment year 2007 and thereafter, the amount 
of real property taxes assessed on the homestead of each property 
owner shall be reduced by three hundred fifty dollars ($350). 

 
Assistant Attorney General Jack Druff prepared the foregoing opinion, which I 
hereby approve. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
DUSTIN McDANIEL 
Attorney General 
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