
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Opinion No. 2008-111 
 
 
July 22, 2008 
 
 
The Honorable Mary Anne Salmon  The Honorable Barry Hyde 
State Senator      State Representative 
#29 Heritage Park Circle    208 North Beech Street 
North Little Rock, Arkansas 72116-8528  No. Little Rock, Arkansas 72114 
 
The Honorable Wilhelmina Lewellen 
State Representative 
1922 Wolfe Street 
Little Rock, Arkansas  72202 
 
Dear Senator Salmon and Representatives Hyde and Lewellen: 
 
I am writing in response to your joint request for an opinion on the following 
questions: 
 

1. Should the Nursing Board’s revocation of a nursing license be 
considered permanent when the circumstances of a case may 
fit provisions outlines in Arkansas Code Annotated 17-87-
312, subsections (e) and (g)(1)? 

 
2. Does the Code or Rules and Regulations for the State Nursing 

Board outline time deadlines for reconsideration of license 
revocation or waiver hearings; and 

 
3. If said requests are not considered permanent, are there rules 

and regulations that define the process for (waiver) hearings 
on cases that fit these special circumstances? 
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RESPONSE 
 
With respect to your first question, I believe that if the Nursing Board has revoked 
a nurse’s license and the revocation has not been successfully appealed, the 
revocation is permanent.  With respect to your second question, in accordance 
with the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, the Arkansas State Board of 
Nursing Rules afford a nurse whose license has been revoked a period of 30 days 
from the date of notice to appeal the revocation.  However, pursuant to A.C.A. § 
17-87-312(g), upon the request of “an affected applicant for licensure” or “[t]he 
person holding a license subject to forfeiture,” the Nursing Board may waive the 
disqualifying provisions of subsection (e) and (f)(2).  With respect to your third 
question, as noted above, an applicant for or the holder of a nursing license may 
within the above referenced 30-day period request that the disqualifying 
provisions of subsection (e) and (f)(2) be waived.  If the applicant or nurse fails to 
make such a request within the recited time period, I believe the revocation will be 
permanent. 
 
Question 1:  Should the Nursing Board’s revocation of a nursing license be 
considered permanent when the circumstances of a case may fit provisions 
outlines in Arkansas Code Annotated 17-87-312, subsections (e) and (g)(1)? 
 
In my opinion, unless the Nursing Board elects to waive the provisions of A.C.A. § 
17-87-312(e) and (f)(2) during the revocation process, or the revocation is 
overturned upon timely appeal, the answer to this question is “yes.” 
 
Subsection 17-87-312(e) (Supp. 2007) provides in pertinent part: 
 

(e) Except as provided in subdivision (l)(1) of this section, no 
person shall be eligible to receive or hold a license issued by 
the board if that person has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere 
to or has been found guilty of any of the following offenses[1] 
by any court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense 

                                              
1 Among the recited offenses are various categories of murder, kidnapping, rape, sexual assault, 
endangering the welfare of a minor, incest, arson, endangering the welfare of an incompetent and felonious 
adult abuse. 
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by a court in another state or of any similar offense by a 
federal court. . . . 

 
The subsection subsequently lists 33 disqualifying offenses. 
 
The referenced subsection (l)(1), which was enacted in the most recent amendment 
to A.C.A. § 17-87-312, see Acts 2005, No. 1923, § 2, qualifies subsection (e) as 
follows: 
 

For purposes of this section, an expunged record of a conviction or a 
plea of guilty or nolo contendere to an offense listed in subsection 
(e) of this section shall not be considered a conviction, guilty plea, or 
nolo contendere plea to the offense unless the offense is also listed in 
subdivision (l)(2) of this section. 
 

Subsection (l)(2) lists a number of serious disqualifying offenses and further states 
that a conviction for any of the listed offenses will result in “permanent 
disqualification.” 
 
Subsection (g)(1), which you reference in your question, provides: 
 

The provisions of subsection (e) and subdivision (f)(2) of this 
section may be waived by the board upon the request of: 
 
(A) An affected applicant for licensure; or 
 
(B) The person holding a license subject to revocation. 

 
The referenced subsection (f)(2) provides: 
 

Except as provided in subdivision (l)(1) of this section, upon receipt 
of information from the Identification Bureau of the Department of 
Arkansas State Police that the person holding the letter of 
provisional licensure has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or has 
been found guilty of, any offense listed in subsection (e) of this 
section, the board shall immediately revoke the provisional license. 
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In construing this statutory scheme, I am guided by the following: 
 

The first rule in considering the meaning and effect of a statute is to 
construe it just as it reads, giving the words their ordinary meaning 
and usually accepted meaning in common language.  Weiss v. 
McFadden, 353 Ark. 868, 120 S.W.3d 545 (2003).  We construe the 
statute so that no word is left void, superfluous, or insignificant; and 
meaning and effect are given to every word in the statute if possible.  
Ozark Gas Pipeline Corp. v. Arkansas Pub. Serv. Comm’n, 342 Ark. 
591, 29 S.W.3d 730 (2000).  When the language of the statute is 
plain and unambiguous, there is no need to resort to rules of 
statutory construction.  Weiss v. McFadden, supra.  When the 
meaning is not clear, we look to the language of the statute, the 
subject matter, the object to be accomplished, the purpose to be 
served, the remedy provided, the legislative history, and other 
appropriate means that shed light on the subject.  Id. 
 

Macsteel, Parnell Consultants v. Ar. Ok. Gas Corp., 363 Ark. 22, 210 S.W.3d 878 
(2005); see also Ops. Att’y Gen. 2005-072 and 2004-339. 
 
In my opinion, the statutory provision that controls in answer to your question is 
A.C.A. § 17-87-312(g)(11), which is unambiguous in providing that the various 
disqualifications set forth in subsections (e) and (f)(2) may be waived only with 
respect to an “applicant for licensure” or for a person “holding a license subject to 
revocation.”  (Emphases added.)  No provision in the subchapter suggests that a 
waiver might be granted to a person whose license has already been revoked.2  In 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, A.C.A. § 25-15-201 et seq., an 
applicant or license holder may appeal an adverse decision regarding licensure by 
the Nursing Board within 30 days of having been served with notice of the 
decision.  See Arkansas State Board of Nursing Rules, Section V(G).  However, 

                                              
 
2 I infer from your reference to the Nursing Board's "revocation of a nursing license" that you are concerned 
regarding the permanency of such a determination once it has been made.  I gather that you are not 
inquiring about the permanency of the lesser authorized disciplinary actions such as suspension or 
limitation of a license as authorized in A.C.A. § 17-87-309 (Supp. 2007). 
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no provision of the Code or the Nursing Rules contemplates that a nurse whose 
license has been revoked and not timely restored upon appeal may be relicensed 
thereafter.3 
 
Question 2:  Does the Code or Rules and Regulations for the State Nursing 
Board outline time deadlines for reconsideration of license revocation or waiver 
hearings? 
 
Yes.  As noted in my response to your previous question, an applicant or license 
holder may challenge the Nursing Board’s decision regarding licensure within 30 
days of having been notified of the decision.   
 
Question 3:  If said requests are not considered permanent, are there rules and 
regulations that define the process for (waiver) hearings on cases that fit these 
special circumstances? 
 
I am not entirely certain why you reference "requests" rather than "revocations" in 
your question.  However, as noted above, once the time to appeal the Nursing 
Board’s decision regarding licensure has run, the revocation or denial of licensure 
will be final. 
 
Assistant Attorney General Jack Druff prepared the foregoing opinion, which I 
hereby approve. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
DUSTIN McDANIEL 
Attorney General 
 

                                              
 
3 Nursing Rules Section XI does address the "renewal" of licenses on a biennial basis or upon application if 
a license has lapsed.  This section further authorizes the Nursing Board to suspend a license for disciplinary 
reasons and provide for its subsequent "reinstatement."  Nothing in this section, however, suggests that a 
license might be subject to renewal following its outright revocation for disciplinary reasons. 


