
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Opinion No. 2007-203 
 
August 31, 2007 
 
The Honorable Gilbert Baker 
State Senator 
#17 Cooper Lane 
Conway, AR 72034-7935 
 
Dear Senator Baker: 
 
I am writing in response to your request for an opinion on behalf of the City 
Attorney of Greenbrier as follows: 
 

1.  Did Act 1994 of the Regular Session of 2005 reverse the changes 
made by Act 1535 of the Regular Session of 2005 with regard to 
Arkansas Code Section 3-3-203? 
 
2.  If so, does the State of Arkansas have any other authority to seize 
and suspend the drivers licenses of minors charged with possession 
of alcohol? 
 
3.  Is violation of Arkansas Code Section 3-3-203 now classified as a 
“misdemeanor” or merely as a “violation?” 
 
4.  Do law enforcement officers have authority to make arrests, as 
opposed to issuance of citations to appear in court, for non-felony 
non-misdemeanor violations? 

 
RESPONSE 
 
In my opinion, in response to your first question, the answer is “No.”  In light of my 
answer to your first question, the second question posed is moot.  In my opinion, 
with respect to your third question, a violation of A.C.A. § 3-3-203 (Supp. 2005) is 
properly classified a “violation.”  In my opinion, in response to your fourth question, 
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a law enforcement officer may arrest an individual committing a criminal violation 
in the officer’s presence even if the penalty for such a criminal act does not include 
a length of imprisonment.  
 
Question One:  Did Act 1994 of the Regular Session of 2005 reverse the changes 
made by Act 1535 of the Regular Session of 2005 with regard to Arkansas Code 
Section 3-3-203? 
 
In my opinion, Act 1994 of 2005 acted as a non-amendatory re-enactment of those 
portions of A.C.A. § 3-3-203 it merely repeated and the amendments made by Act 
1535 of 2005 are valid enactments of the General Assembly of the State of 
Arkansas.   
 
Act 1535 of 2005 amended A.C.A. § 3-3-203 as follows: 
 

(a)(1) It shall be unlawful for any person under the age of twenty-
one (21) years to purchase or have in possession any intoxicating 
liquor, wine, or beer. 
 
(2) For the purposes of this section, intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer 
in the body of a minor shall not be deemed to be in his possession. 
 
(b) It shall also be unlawful for any adult to purchase on behalf of a 
person under the age of twenty-one (21) years any intoxicating 
liquor, wine, or beer. 
 
(c)(1) Any person violating this section shall be deemed is guilty of 
a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be subject to a fine of not 
less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred 
dollars ($500). 
 
(2) In addition to the fine authorized by subdivision (c)(1) of this 
section, at the time of arrest for violation of the provisions of 
subsection (a) of this section, the arrested person shall immediately 
surrender his or her license, permit, or other evidence of driving 
privilege to the arresting law enforcement officer as provided in § 5-
65-402. 
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(3) The Office of Driver Services of the Revenue Division of the 
Department of Finance and Administration or its designated official 
shall suspend or revoke the driving privilege of an arrested person or 
shall suspend any nonresident driving privilege of an arrested 
person, as provided in § 5-65-402. The period of suspension or 
revocation shall be based on the offense that caused the surrender of 
the arrested person's license, permit, or other evidence of driving 
privilege as described in subdivision (c)(2) of this section and the 
number of any previous offenses as follows: 
 
(A) Suspension for sixty (60) days for a first offense under 
subsection (a) of this section; 
 
(B) Suspension for one hundred twenty (120) days for a second 
offense under subsection (a) of this section; and 
 
(C) Suspension for one (1) year for a third or subsequent offense 
under subsection (a) of this section. 
 
(4) In order to determine the number of previous offenses to consider 
when suspending or revoking the arrested person's driving 
privileges, the office shall consider as a previous offense any 
convictions under subsection (a) of this section which occurred both 
prior to or after the effective date of this subsection (c). 
 
(d) In addition to the penalty penalties herein provided, the trial 
judge or magistrate may impose the following penalty or penalties or 
any combination thereof: 
 
(1) Requiring persons under the age of twenty-one (21) years to 
write themes or essays on intoxicating liquors, wine, or beer; or 
 
(2) Placement of a person under the age of twenty-one (21) years 
under probationary conditions as determined by the court in its 
reasonable discretion designed as a reasonable and suitable 
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preventive and educational safeguard to prevent future violations of 
this section by the person. 
 

Id. at § 1.1  This Act was signed by the Governor on April 5, 2005 and did not 
contain an emergency clause.   
 
Act 1994 of 2005, the Arkansas Criminal Code Revision Commission’s omnibus 
revision bill, amended the same statute, A.C.A. § 3-3-203, to read as follows: 
 

(a)(1) It shall be unlawful for any person under the age of twenty-
one (21) years to purchase or have in possession any intoxicating 
liquor, wine, or beer. 
 
(2) For the purposes of this section, intoxicating liquor, wine, or beer 
in the body of a minor shall not be deemed to be in his possession. 
 
(b) It shall also be unlawful for any adult to purchase on behalf of a 
person under the age of twenty-one (21) years any intoxicating 
liquor, wine, or beer. 
 
(c) Any person violating this section shall be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor violation and upon conviction shall be subject to a fine 
of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five 
hundred dollars ($500). 
 
(d) In addition to the penalty herein provided, the trial judge or 
magistrate may impose the following penalty or penalties or any 
combination thereof: 
 
(1) Requiring persons under the age of twenty-one (21) years to 
write themes or essays on intoxicating liquors, wine, or beer; and 
 
(2) Placement of a person under the age of twenty-one (21) years 
under probationary conditions as determined by the court in its 

                                                 
1 Underlined items are new language while stricken language will be deleted.   
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reasonable discretion designed as a reasonable and suitable 
preventive and educational safeguard to prevent future violations of 
this section by the person. 

 
Id. at § 28.  Act 1994 was signed by the Governor on April 11, 2005 and did not 
contain an emergency clause.   
 
The question posed is whether the failure of Act 1994 to include the language 
added to A.C.A. § 3-3-203 by Act 1535 impliedly repealed that language.  In my 
opinion, it did not.  
 
One of the primary rules of statutory construction is that if two acts are passed 
during the same legislative session and address the same subject, they should be 
read harmoniously so that both can be given effect if possible.  See generally 
Sargent v. Cole, 269 Ark. 121, 598 S.W.2d 749 (1980); see also Op. Att’y Gen. 
2007-029.  Indeed, the presumption is that two acts passed during the same session 
that address the same subject were actuated by the same policy and that both were 
intended to be given effect.  See, e.g., Adams v. Arthur, 333 Ark. 53, 969 S.W.2d 
598 (1998); Horn v. White, 225 Ark. 540, 284 S.W.2d 122 (1955); see also 
Sutherland on Statutory Construction, § 23.17 (5th Ed., 1993).  I acknowledge that 
under another rule of statutory construction, if two conflicting acts are passed 
during the same legislative session, the one passed later in time will take 
precedence.  Adams, supra.  However, the Arkansas Supreme Court has held that 
this latter rule must yield to the former one in order to effectuate legislative intent.  
Horn, supra.  Moreover, the court has held that if two acts that are passed at the 
same legislative session contain conflicting clauses, the whole record of legislation 
will be examined to ascertain the legislative intent, and such intent, if ascertained, 
will be given effect, regardless of priority of enactment.  Id.   
 
In addition, with respect to such statutes, A.C.A. § 1-2-207(b) (Supp. 2007) 
provides: 
 

(b)(1) When more than one (1) act concerning the same subject 
matter is enacted by the General Assembly during the same session, 
whether or not specifically amending the same sections of the 
Arkansas Code or an uncodified act, all of the enactments shall be 
given effect except to the extent of irreconcilable conflicts in which 
case the conflicting provision of the last enactment shall prevail. 
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(2) The last enactment is the one which the Governor signed last or 
if the Governor does not sign one of the acts then the last enactment 
is the act which was last voted on by either house of the General 
Assembly. 

 
This statute specifically dictates that “all of the enactments shall be given effect 
except to the extent of irreconcilable conflicts…” Id.  In determining to what extent 
there are any irreconcilable conflicts,” it is important to note that in  Citizens to 
Establish a Reform Party v. Priest, 325 Ark. 257, 265, 926 S.W.2d 432 (1996), the 
court held that “[w]hen an act amends the law, portions of the law that were not 
amended but simply retained are not thought of as new enactments.”  Additionally, 
the amendments made by both Act 1535 and Act 1994 are incorporated into 
A.C.A. § 3-3-203 in the 2007 Supplement of the Arkansas Code.   
 
Act 1994 of 2005 was a comprehensive general bill, containing 526 sections 
adopted to clarify the criminal statutes throughout the Arkansas Code.  It changed 
only the word “misdemeanor” to “violation” simply retaining the remainder of the 
language in A.C.A. § 3-3-203.  In contrast, Act 1535 deals almost entirely with 
A.C.A. § 3-3-203 and the penalties for underage alcohol possession.  All conflicting 
statutes, and enactments, must be read harmoniously if at all possible.  I am 
bolstered in my conclusion by the amendments of both acts being incorporated 
into A.C.A. § 3-3-203 in the 2007 Supplement.  In this instance, in my opinion, a 
court would easily harmonize the allegedly conflicting enactments by applying 
both amendments to A.C.A. § 3-3-203.   
  
Question Two:  If so, does the State of Arkansas have any other authority to 
seize and suspend the drivers license of minors charged with possession of 
alcohol? 
 
In light of my answer to Question One, that Act 1994 of 2005 did not repeal Act 
1535 of 2005, this question is moot.  
 
Question Three:  Is violation of Arkansas Code Section 3-3-203 now classified 
as a “misdemeanor” or merely as a “violation?” 
 
As noted in response to Question One, in my opinion the provisions of Act 1994 
of 2005 which state that it is a “violation” to transgress the prohibition of A.C.A. § 3-
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3-203 should be given effect.  Although Act 1535 of 2005 retains the language 
making the conduct a misdemeanor, this portion of Act 1535 is clearly in conflict 
with the later Act 1994.  The offense in A.C.A. § 3-3-203 would be only a 
violation, regardless of its designation, because a fine and civil penalty are the 
only authorized punishments.  A.C.A. § 5-1-108(b) (Repl. 2006). 
 
Question Four:  Do law enforcement officers have authority to make arrests, as 
opposed to issuance of citations to appear in court, for non-felony non-
misdemeanor violations? 
 
Yes.   
 
The Supreme Court of the United States has specifically held that it is not an 
unreasonable seizure to arrest an individual who is guilty of a crime that is 
punishable by citation and carries no jail time.  Atwater v. City of Lago Vista, 523 
U.S. 318 (2001).  Specifically, the Court stated “The question is whether the Fourth 
Amendment forbids a warrantless arrest for a minor criminal offense, such as a 
misdemeanor seatbelt violation punishable only by a fine.  We hold that it does 
not.”  Id. at 323.  Furthermore, Rule 4.1 of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal 
Procedure states in pertinent part:  
 

(a) A law enforcement officer may arrest a person without a warrant 
if: 
 

* * * 
 
(iii) the officer has reasonable cause to believe that such person has 
committed any violation of law in the officer’s presence[.] 

 
Id.  (emphasis added).  The plain and ordinary meaning of “any violation” would 
include felonies, misdemeanors, and violations under the criminal statutes of the 
State of Arkansas.   Pursuant to Supreme Court precedent and the extant Rules of 
Criminal Procedure, a law enforcement officer is authorized to make an arrest for 
any violation of the law committed in his presence.  
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Assistant Attorney General Joel DiPippa prepared the foregoing opinion, which I 
hereby approve.  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
 
DUSTIN McDANIEL 
Attorney General 
 
DM:JMD/cyh 
 


